April TBR // 2021

Happy Friday, everyone! Today I’m sharing all of the books I’m planning to read in April. Like I mentioned in my wrap-up, I’m starting in-person school in the middle of this month and I don’t know how that will affect my reading. For that reason, this TBR is probably way too ambitious, but it’s ok because it’ll motivate me to read.

I decided to divide it into 3 sections: ARCs (advanced reader copies) that I got from Edelweiss+ and Netgalley, books that will help me complete my 2021 reading goals (click here to check out that post) and other random books that I want to read too.

Let’s get started!

I’m taking part in the Oh S(e)r(iou)sly Read Those ARCs! readathon which is running from the 1st to the 30th of April and it was created by Joy @ ohsrslybooks. The objective is to read ARCS and there are 10 prompts which you can complete. Here are the books I chose:

  • Between the Bliss and Me by Lizzy Mason – this was described as a “contemporary YA novel about mental illness, young romance, and the impact of family history on one teen’s future, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Robin Benway, and Kathleen Glasgow.” Well, in case you were unaware, I’m a HUGE Jandy Nelson fan (I’m still waiting for her to release her third book – it’s been SEVEN YEARS since her last one came out 😭) so that blurb totally caught my attention. I think I’m really going to like this one!
  • The House Swap by Jo Lovett – I’m getting very much Flatshare by Beth O’Leary vibes from this synopsis and it is also suposedly a hate-to-love romance. Sounds promising!

I don’t know whether or not you can use the same book for multiple prompts, but if so, I will complete 5/10 prompts!

  • The Sky is Eveywhere by Jandy Nelson – I’m reading this book for a third time this month since it’s been almost 2 years since I last read it and I’ve been wanting to reread it for a while now. It also happens to fit perfectly with the April Buzzword. (galaxy terms – “Sky”).
  • Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales – I read Only Mostly Devastated in February and I enjoyed it a lot (read my review here) and when I heard about this novel, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. It’s a YA contemporary with a bi MC who falls for a guy, which is representation that you do not see often (usually when a character is bi they end up in a relationship with someone of the same gender). I had planned to read this book last month but I wasn’t able to, so hopefully I will in April.
  • She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quindlen – it’s no secret if you’ve been on my blog or interacted me for more than a minute that this is probably my most antecipated release of this year. I loved Late to the Party and I can’t imagine not feeling the same way about this book. A YA contemporary enemies to lovers sapphic romance is exactly what I need in my life.

  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – I’ve reached the final book in The Shadow and Bone trilogy and I’m so proud of myself because I’ve been saying that I would read these books for so freaking long and I finally did. The stakes are high and I feel like people are gonna die in this novel. I’m ready though!
  • Six of Crows and Crooked Kindgom by Leigh Bardugo – I actually read Six of Crows (not Crooked Kingdom) about 2 years ago and although I enjoyed it, I was very confused. Everyone I’ve heard talking about this duology says that you don’t need to read The Shadow and Bone trilogy to understand it and maybe it’s just my peanut brain, but I wholeheartedly disagree with that statement. The magic system was so confusing to me when I read it and I felt completely lost. However, since I will have finished the Grisha trilogy when I give it a second try, that won’t be the case anymore and I’ll enjoy both books a lot more.
  • Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer – it seems like all of my Goodreads friends have been reading this book lately and since I don’t wanna feel left out and I already had this on my TBR, I thought, why not? This is supposed to be a very heartbreaking YA novel dealing with loss and that will probably make you cry which sounds like my cup of tea.

I’m probably going to veer from my TBR a little bit, even if I read all of these books since in these past few months I’ve been listening to at least one audiobook a month and I choose that on a whim so it’s never on my TBR.

I’m going to try to still be active on my blog once school starts again on Monday (we had a week off) as well as when in-person school begins again, but I can’t promise anything. My grades went down a bit this trimester and I need to focus on school to make sure I can get them back up. I probably won’t post as often, but I’ll still try to interact with everyone else’s posts since that doesn’t take as much time or work as posting.

How was your weekend? Let me know in the comments!

What are some of your reading plans for April? Are you interested in any of the books I mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

27 thoughts on “April TBR // 2021”

  1. Finally someone else who thought Six of Crows was confusing! I read it last year at my friend’s demand and didn’t really like it because I found it slow and confusing– I’m also not a big fantasy reader so that probably made it more difficult to get into for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES, it feels good to not be alone πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚ I totally get why you didn’t like it – I wish more people would advise others to read the Shadow and Bone trilogy first because I’m certain that will make Six of Crows so much easier to understand.

      Like

  2. I love your TBR! πŸ₯° Thank you for mentioning my readathon, I’m really happy you’re participating. You can use the same book for different prompts, it’s no problem 😊 The House Swap is also on my TBR, so if you’d like to buddy read it, I’m in ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 Of course! I’m really excited for it πŸ˜„ I’d love to buddy read it! How do you want to do it?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, we’re basically all buddy reading the books together πŸ˜‚
      I hope you end up liking SoC and Perfect on Paper!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Six of Crows ahhh!! I’m sorry that you found it confusing the first round, I skipped the trilogy but it was thankfully pretty smooth for me… I hope that you grow to love it during your reread with the the proper context and all! Great post and all the best for your tbr! πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like it’s going to be a great month! I really want to read the Shadow and Bone books. They have been sat on my shelf for way too long now. I did read SoC but didn’t love it. I want to reread it at some point because I listened to the audiobook and I am wondering if I might enjoy it more if I actually read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely give Shadow and Bone a try! I put off reading them for so long but the series is turning out to be such an enjoyable reading experience, I wish I’d read it sooner πŸ˜„
      I think for all the hype that SoC gets, maybe do try reading it physically, because you might end up loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. SO many great books! I would have loved to join in the ARC readathon if I hadn’t just done a month-long readathon in March. I’m not sure I could handle two in a row. Ha! I’m happy to see your enjoying the Shadow and Bone series. I read it and the Six of Crows duology for the first time at the end of last year, so I was late to it, as well. I was still a little confused by Six of Crows even though I’d just finished the Shadow and Bone series, so I don’t know if reading it first helps that much. LOL I think it’s just a lot of information. But I did end up loving Six of Crows more than Shadow and Bone. Now I’m so excited for the adaptation. πŸ˜‰ Happy reading in April!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s